2017 Award Winners


Regina Diving Club – 2017 Club of the Year

Congratulations to Regina Diving Club and Head Coach Laura Desautels for being named the Dive Sask Club of the Year at our recent Awards Dinner in Saskatoon.  This award is based on overall club results – membership growth and competitive participation and performance at all levels.  Regina also was named the Novice Team of the Year.  Saskatoon Diving Club also took home awards being named the Top Age Group Team and the Top Senior Team.  Mary Carroll was named Top National Coach and Kaitlyn Clark won the award for Top Novice Coach.   Athlete Awards were also presented for every competitive level – see the full list here.  Top Senior Awards went to Jamie Spilchak (Saskatoon) and Alyssa Clairmont (Regina).  Brooklyn O’Day was named Rookie of the Year.  16 broken Dive Sask records were also celebrated with the Annual Dive Sask Record Breaking Ceremony!  Congratulations to all of the amazing divers, coaches, judges and volunteers who helped Dive Sask have the best year we have ever had.  Looking forward to an exciting new competitive season.  (Full list of winners here)

Canada Games Medals

20543681_1765435046805933_2604329041984382276_oTwo athletes, two bronze medals, two new Saskatchewan records!  Canada Games 2017 is in the history book and with it two new 10m Platform medal holders – Alyssa Clairmont from Regina and Rylan Wiens from Saskatoon.  It was a fantastic end to a great week, with 6 athletes in 10m finals. We would have had 7 but for the rule preventing more than 3 from a province competing in finals.  Both Alyssa and Rylan had to put some 9s and 9.5s in the water to clinch their medals – they fought to the very last dive and came out on the podium.  They also broke big records.  Rylan broke his own record set at Sr. Nationals – that record had previously belonged to Cole Miller since 2011.  Alyssa broke Joelle Gallais’ record which was set at Toon Town in May – that record was previously set by Lindsay Hamilton in 2006.  Amazing to see so many big records falling this year.  Congratulations to all of our Canada Games athletes, coaches, judges and manager on a job well done.

2017 Canada Games

Congratulations to the 2017 Dive Sask Canada Games Team who will be competing from July 31 – August 3rd in Winnipeg.  Members of the team are:

  • MEN:  Rylan Wiens, Jamie Spilchak, Jonah Cey, Bjorn Markentin
  • WOMEN: Joelle Gallais, Alyssa Clairmont, Liz DeCecco, Quinn Gariepy
  • MANAGER:  Sydney Hesselberg
  • COACHES:  Laura Desautels, Steve Carroll

These athletes have just come off of a strong showing at National Championships and should be podium contenders in a number of categories.   Good Luck Team Sask!

Schedule can be viewed here

Live Streaming can be watched here

National Medals & Records


Nationals 2017 is in the bags and we have two new medal holders AND two new Saskatchewan record holders.  Kelsey Clairmont of Regina Diving Club won bronze in Group C 3m at Jr. Development Nationals and broke her own record which she had set earlier in the year.  Rylan Wiens of Saskatoon Diving Club took the silver medal on Group B 3m at Jr. Elite Nationals and broke the record that had been set by Jamie Spilchak just last month at Manitoba Provincials.  Congratulations Kelsey and Rylan!

Calling all Dive Sask Alumni


RDC Training Camp Trip – 1993

Dive Sask believes that community is important – that friends you make as a diver, coach, official or volunteer can last throughout your lifetime and enrich your life.  To help you connect with old friends, we have created a Dive Sask Alumni Facebook Group and will be hosting some upcoming events and play days.   The first event will be held on June 30th, from 5-7 pm at the Shaw Centre in Saskatoon.  We will have a killer ab session, handstand contest, belly flop contest, and biggest d.d. dive.   Warning – this WILL be posted on Social Media!  Join in the activities or be a cheerleader from the deck.  Message the Saskatoon Diving Club Facebook page if you can attend.  Look for similar events in Regina and plan to attend the alumni get together at Senior Nationals in Saskatoon in January.  In the meantime, start looking through old photos and post them on the Alumni Facebook page.


« Older Entries Recent Entries »